Equality

I am not here to start a debate on equality. I have my beliefs, you have yours. I have several friends who do not have the same beliefs as myself, and we are still friends. With everything on FB right now there are heated debates on equality. I just let them be, UNTIL yesterday.

My friend posted that he does not support Gay marraige {because, in the simplest of terms, I don’t think thousands of years of continuing the human race wasn’t helped by the cultural construction of a continuous union between a man and a woman.  The question isn’t whether it’s right or wrong, or… whether it’s in the bible, the question I ask is, why do the 58% want to remove this tradition? Traditions are very important to a societies’ very fabric and all I see is a bunch of rebellious Americans, who thinks that because of our technologies, and our longevity, and our ‘great social programs’, that somehow in the last 100 years human kind has grown too large and proud for thousands of years of tradition to continue…}

I ignored it because that is his right to believe that. Others started having debate that I watched because it was interesting…. but then….I got pissed by his and his wife’s next remarks:

{The whole reason why gay marriage is an issue is because they can not have their own children without technology.  This is why XXX states the reason why we have human kind is by reproduction.  Its impossible for people of the same sex to reproduce.  ITs possible for man and woman to have children.  XXX’s point is that its only natural for people of the same sex to reproduce.  I think that it is unfair that gays are put in the position that they love who they love and don’t have the ability to have children in a natural way.  The most wonderful thing in life is the ability to have your own children.  When a person doesn’t get that opportunity is it really worth all the trouble?  Love over children, children over love, or finding other ways to have children but it may not even be purely your own.}

I replied with: So I shouldn’t be able to get married to my husband because I can’t have children naturally?

I never received a reply back.

This hurt me to my core. Marriage is not strictly about having children. That is my point. Taking gay rights completely out of this. I do not believe you should be getting married ONLY to have children.

 

3 thoughts on “Equality

  1. Yeah that argument is so flawed I can’t understand why anyone is using it. You want to exclude a group of people from marriage? Fine, your opinion. BUT plenty of straight couples are infertile, or CHOOSE not to have children, and no one says a word.

    By the way, the previous article about preserving our culture irks me too… my foster son is a beautiful little boy with a white mom and a black dad. 60 years ago it would have been ILLEGAL for his parents to get married. Traditions and cultures evolve, and change. Many biblical characters had multiple wives, or practiced slavery. Those were very important aspects of their culture… no one is arguing that we should have slavery back!

    • I love the quote in the Jefferson Monument for just this:

      “I am not an advocate for frequent changes in laws and constitutions, but laws and institutions must go hand in hand with the progress of the human mind. As that becomes more developed, more enlightened, as new discoveries are made, new truths discovered and manners and opinions change, with the change of circumstances, institutions must advance also to keep pace with the times. We might as well require a man to wear still the coat which fitted him when a boy as civilized society to remain ever under the regimen of their barbarous ancestors.”

      Even our founders knew change was a good thing back then.

Leave a Reply

