Considerate Friends

When you lose a child (or in my case children), especially your only children, you really learn quickly who your true friends are. They comfort you during bed rest, give you hope while knowing the odds, and are just there for you. They check in on you from time to time after the rush of ‘I’m sorry’s’ and check-ins are over. They also take your feelings into consideration when they have news to share.

I wanted to share a message I received yesterday. I have left parts out to help with anonymity. I wanted to share, because she handled this in a very delicate and personal way. She took my feelings into consideration, even over her own joy of more than likely wanting to shout it from the rooftops and making that first FB post.

I wish more of our friends were like her, and how considerate she was.

Her message:

***************

Sensitive News…

Hey. I’ve kind of wavered on how to tell you and I’ve honestly still not figured it out. I’m pregnant ***************** It’s definitely an odd mix of exciting and terrifying. I didn’t want to call you and put you on the spot or in a position where you felt like you needed to act happy for me, and unfortunately I don’t have your email address, so I’m stuck with FB. I completely understand if you don’t want to talk or anything for awhile. Let me know if I can do anything for you.

A Friend

***************

I wish more of my friends were as considerate as her. I recently just found out a friend was pregnant with twins through a FB announcement. I cried for days. It felt like a slap to the face to be honest. But this, this was perfect for me.  I know many BLM’s on here get mad at emails and prefer calls, but for me personally this was perfect. I didn’t have to have that initial shock of silence, there was no awkward silence for her either. Just her doing this, tells me how hard it was for her to tell me.

And that my fellow moms, is how you tell who a true friend is 🙂 I wish her all the best, and a smooth uneventful pregnancy. I know I will worry enough for her!

One thought on “Considerate Friends

  1. That is awesome! What a great, sensitive friend. That would be the best way for one of my friends to tell me as well. I (personally) don’t like people hiding things from me either. So if it was a close friend, and I found out from someone else, I would be hurt. But if they told me like this, that would be the most sensitive thing to do. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

