The little things

I post so much about the negative things, that I really need to post on the positive.  But first, the negative 🙂

I’ve had a really bad day. I’ve been feeling sorry for myself because I received some bad news from my doctor yesterday night. You know it’s bad when they call at 7:30 pm right?

Anyway, it filtered into today at work. My immediate boss knows, and has pretty much let me just work on things I have to get done and has let me ‘sulk.’  I was put into a worse mood by lunch. I have $46 dollars in my bank account for 2 weeks. I had to pay a hefty chuck on the NICU bills and other baby expenses this month. So, I had to eat from the deep freeze. This is what I produced for lunch.

photo

 

Now, I know I shouldn’t be complaining. After all, it is food and there there a lot of people who don’t have that. But like I said before, I am feeling sorry for myself today. For all those wondering what in the hell the rounded trapezoid thing is…. it is a ‘fish’ fillet. The stuff next to it is mac & cheese.

So, as you can see, it is very unappealing and tastes about the same. As I am heating it, my immediate boss comes in and takes a look. Wow. He is laughing at the very unnatural shape of the fish. I then complain about it, about how I don’t want it, how it doesn’t look good, and honestly know I looked pathetic at this point. He says he has, roasted turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, and baked beans from left overs. Yup, mine really sounds and looks like crap now.

Here is the amazing part though. He gives me his lunch, and says he will eat mine. I almost cried. I, of course, didn’t accept it but it was just the thought and the action. I had to take the time to recognize him. He may never know just how much offering a turkey lunch meant to me.

It’s the little things like this that keep me going. The good people that over shadow all the negative comments. Thank you, Leonard.

5 thoughts on “The little things

Leave a Reply

