Quiet

I know I have been really quit on this blog for some time now. I honestly have been trying to focus on the positives and not the negatives. I have been writing more on my other blog. I think I just needed to step away from this one for awhile.

Then, this month has also been really tough on my husband and I. We have 3 important dates to us arriving withing 8 days of each other. The Twins’ birthdays, and each of their angelversaries.

Now, that is a word I do not like. ‘Angelversary.’ Is is supposed to make me feel better about my daughters dying by putting it more eloquently than, ‘the day they died?’ It isn’t a day to celebrate in my mind, which adding -versary to seems to imply.

So what does -versary mean? -versary come from the latin word vertere meaning  to turn (www.dictionary.com). So, I guess -versary does work, but I’ve never really EVER used it in anything other than a good way until my daughters passed. I always celebrated on -versaries, now I have one I mourn on.

I need to come up with something better, but until I do, I guess I will continue using that awkward word. As in: Tomorrow (December 17th) is Hazel’s Angelversary. This sucks.

8 thoughts on “Quiet

  1. I personally hate angelversary and angel babies and anything that tries to cute up our dead children. It’s not nice. Never will be. We can learn and grow and be thankful for the gifts they left us, but the fact our children died will never be a good thing.

  2. Hate the word. I want to call it what it is: anniversary of a death. Anniversary of a tragedy. Don’t we say it’s the 10 year anniversary of 9/11? Or the one year anniversary of the Newtown shootings?

  3. I have to get through two days, five days apart myself. August is like this dark, horrible cloud that lingers for 31 days too long. All I want to do is go to sleep & wake up on September 1st. I hope in time, this feeling will lessen. XO

Leave a Reply

