What’s in a name?

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet;”

Romeo and Juliet Act II Scene II Lines: 47-48

William Shakespeare

**Triggers/Ments**

Something have bugged me since, well, the day I started showing pictures of Dexter to the world. One simple word. One word is all it takes to make me mad. A word I am sure I have used at one time BEFORE when talking about a particular child. I’m sure you are wondering, “What one word could send her into such a tizzy?”

Please don’t call my child an angel. 

I know you mean well when you say things like:

  • He’s so precious, such an angel!
  • What an adorable little angel
  • Sweet angel

Well, you get the point here. Why do I get so worked up over one simple word? I already have two angels, I don’t care to have another one. Yes, I know this is not what you mean. I’m not ignorant. But, that doesn’t make it hurt any less. He’s not an angel. He’s my LIVING son, and I am going to do everything in my power to keep it that way.

One thought on “What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

