Somber News

Usually at our group meetings at work, I just have to prepare myself for the announcements of pregnancies and births, but I wasn’t prepared for this morning. Co-Workers tried to get a hold of me before the meeting, but I was in and out. 

A co-worker’s 20 year old son (a twin) died Friday suddenly. As of now, there are no details. He just died during drills on a military base. My heart sunk, and then I just started crying during the meeting. I felt like an idiot. People approached me after asking me if I knew him. Nope. Then, just stares. I’m not close to the family, or even friends with that co-worker, but his son died. I know what the mother is going through. No parent should ever have to bury a child, no matter the child’s age. Be it unborn, hours, 1 day, 20 years, or 60 years. It just shouldn’t happen. 

Children should bury their parents, NEVER should a parent have to bury a child. We should watch them grow old and criticize them for their choices and love them unconditionally. We shouldn’t have to pick out the outfit they will be buried or cremated in. We shouldn’t have to chose what color coffin or granite for their stone. NEVER.

One day I pray this will be the future. 

5 thoughts on “Somber News

  1. Other deaths can bring our own emotions to the surface again. And it doesn’t matter if you didn’t know him or are not close with the family, you feel their pain. You know what they are going through. Don’t feel like an idiot. Sending you hugs!

  2. I’m the exact same way when I hear about something like that. It brings my grief right to the surface. I try to channel it into a card or a gift or reaching out somehow. Because it just comes to the surface and there is no place for it to go. I hate feeling helpless, and we are all helpless in a situation like that.

  3. I am sorry to hear this sad news. Your world and how you look at it has changed forever, anyone whether you know them or not who experiences loss like this will always affect you and the twin element just makes it that much harder to bear. Recently in the UK a celebrity lost his 25 year old daughter suddenly and they haven’t been able to determine why, she was a mom to two very young children so this made me very sad. Sad as I know how hard it must be for her dad, Bob Geldof and his daughters husband and children must be going though hell. Dex will relish any extra mommy cuddles. Hope you are feeling a little better. xx

  4. I think every parent who has lost a child deeply empathizes when hearing of another parent who has lost a child. We know, more than anyone else, the deep agony and the long, difficult path that follows. We know what it’s like, we have walked in similar shoes, and we feel it right in the most tender places in our hearts.

Leave a Reply

