Being a Christian that pursued IVF

Recently on a fellow blogger, BabyAngel, was attacked in her comments section for thinking about pursuing IVF.

This person told me that as a Christian I should not be considering IVF. They said I should not be creating life just to destroy it.

I wanted to reach out and show her support, so I posted this reply in her comments section. This may bring many Christian-Anti-IVF people my way, but I feel it needs to be addressed.

I am a Christian, and I have done IVF. God is the ultimate judge and decider. If He doesn’t want you to get pregnancy via IVF, he will not allow it. He gave the doctors their knowledge and skills. He graced the doctors with the wisdom and procedures. IVF is complicated. One tiny little thing off and it will not work. It is a miracle of science that God has provided us with. Because of my IVF trials, I am a better Christian. If it would not have been for IVF, then my loss, then my rainbow, I would never have found God. How could anyone say that God didn’t want me to find Him and give my eternity to Him? [Psalm 139:13-15] He sees life as it starts. It is all His will not matter how we come to it. [Romans 12:2]

I have spoken with pastors about IVF, and they fully support it. God wants to bring more children into this work to parents who WANT them more than anything and will raise them in the light of God. Who better than someone struggling and wanting a child so badly, they will endure hell for them? Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you need someone to talk to.

Jesus loved everyone no matter their sins. There is only one judge, and He is not I. Only a true Christian embraces everyone and does not judge, even if they don’t agree with you. As a Christian I am saddened by all this. We need to LOVE one another and offer support. [Ephesians 4:29]

I could go on, but there is no need to. I will be praying for you and your IVF if that is what you choose. It’s all out of our hands anyway, right? God’s will, God’s time. Xoxo

Ok, one more thing has been really bugging me – ‘create life only to destroy it’ ??? I don’t understand this? How is life destroyed in IVF? I guess maybe that is how I differ as a Christian doing IVF. We didn’t discard any embryos, even if they were low quality. We still had them frozen. We plan on implanting every fertilized embryo at some point. None will be discarded or used for research. We did a low medicated cycle so as to not get 20+ embryos. We had 9, 7 of which fertilized. 2 already implanted and I have my beautiful twin daughters that lived 1 day and 8 days in the NICU. 2 were transferred with my FET resulting in 1 miscarriage and my rainbow son. That leaves 3. One didn’t survive to the point of freezing. It stopped growing and went multicell and died. That leaves 2 frozen embryos still left waiting for me and 4 Angels waiting on me in the kingdom of Heaven. Just because you do IVF, doesn’t mean you don’t see life as precious.

I started looking at sites dedicated to how Christians should be against IVF, and one thing stood out with every one of them. You are assuming you know God’s thoughts and plans. [Isaiah 55:9] If you know all of God’s actions and plans for you and everyone else, then I am in awe of you. I don’t know His plans for me, but I do trust that they are good.

So, while you can think what you want about IVF, do not judge others for doing it. One day I will meet my maker and He will judge me. If the worst thing I have ever done is IVF to bring a child into this world that follows Him and accepts Jesus into his life, then I’m good with that 🙂

4 thoughts on “Being a Christian that pursued IVF

  1. Pingback: Being a Christian that pursued IVF | Chasing Rainbows

Leave a Reply

